contact follow us
Salman Rushdie
back back
salman rushdie
Born and raised in Mumbai, Rushdie has been a UK citizen since 1964 and wrote thirteen novels in his career: Grimus (1975), Midnight's Children (1981), winner of the Booker Prize in 1981 and Best of the Booker in 2008, and adapted in a theatrical play in 2003 and in a movie directed by Deepa Metha in 2012, Shame (1983), The Satanic Verses (1988), a satyrical interpretation of Islam that caused him a fatwā issued by the ayatollah Ruhollah Khomeini that accused Rushdie of blasphemy and sentenced him to death, Haroun and the sea of stories (1990), winner of the Writer's Guild Award, The Moor's Last Sigh (1995); The Ground Beneath Her Feet (1999), Fury (2001), Shalimar the Clown (2005), The Enchantress of Florence (2008), Luka and the Fire of Life (2010), Two Years, Eight Months and Twenty-eight Nights (2015) and The Golden House (2017). He is also a talented essayist, prove of which are Imaginary Homelands (1991), Step Across This Line (2003), Josef Anton – A Memoir (2012) and the reportage on Nicaragua The Jaguar Smile (1987). Rushdie is a member of the British Royal Society of Literature since 1999 and of the American Academy of Arts and Letters since 2008. He won several international prizes, he is Commandeur des Artes et des Lettres, Honorary Professor of Humanities at MIT and has been president of the PEN American Center from 2004 to 2006. In 2014 he received the Andersen Prize for his outstanding contribution to kids and youth literature. His books have been translated in more than 40 languages. In fall 2019 will come out his latest novel, Quichotte.
back next
back next
back next
back next